Interdisciplinary Research on Emotions in Neuroscience and Philosophy

Martin Diessel, Dipl.-Psych.



I’ve always been impressed by the huge diversity of human consciousness and behavior. For that reason I studied psychology at the Martin-Luther-University of Halle-Wittenberg. My major subjects were clinical psychology and neuropsychology, neurology and the cognitive psychology of attention.

I finished my diploma-thesis in 2005 investigating the neural foundations of social cognition: decision making and the detection of emotional facial expressions. To track the interrelations of these components, I developed a new labyrinth-paradigm. People had to find their way through a labyrinth using the emotional expressions of faces as a guide. The emotional expressions changed slightly according to the distance to the point of destination. I found strong and significant relations between the ability to react to fine changes in emotional facial expressions and the selection of actions with positive future consequences in the Iowa-gambling-task (Bechara 2000).

As the combination of psychology and neuroscience became so fascinating to me, I decided to go on working as a scientist in the field of social neuroscience. My part in the project animal emotionale (supported by VW-Foundation) will be fMRI-investigations on how people perceive enforcement and freedom in social interactions or how they reduce the uncertainty involved in social contact by trust and control.

Furthermore, I cooperate with René Hurlemann, M.D. in searching for ways to pharmacologically manipulate the perception of emotional facial expressions.



  Top    Home

Interdisziplinäre Emotionsforschung zwischen Neurowissenschaften und Philosophie

Martin Diessel, Dipl.-Psych.



Ich war schon immer von der großen Vielfalt des menschlichen Bewusstseins und Verhaltens beeindruckt. Aus diesem Grund studierte ich Psychologie an der Martin-Luther-Universität zu Halle-Wittenberg. Meine Spezialfächer waren Klinische Psychologie und Neuropsychologie, Neurologie und die kognitive Psychologie der Aufmerksamkeit.

Ich beendete meine Diplomarbeit 2005 mit einer Untersuchung zu den neuronalen Grundlagen sozialer Kognitionen: Entscheidungsfindung und das Erkennen emotionaler Gesichtsausdrücke. Um die Beziehungen dieser Komponenten zu ergründen, entwickelte ich ein neuartiges Labyrinth-Paradigma, bei dem die Versuchsperson sich auf ihrem Weg durch ein Labyrinth von Gesichtern leiten lassen musste, deren emotionaler Ausdruck sich mit Zielannäherung schrittweise änderte. Ich fand hoch signifikante Zusammenhänge zwischen der Fähigkeit, sensibel auf Änderungen emotionaler Gesichtsausdrücke zu reagieren und der Auswahl langfristig vorteilhafter Handlungsstrategien in der Iowa-Gambling-Task (Bechara 2000).

Da die Verbindung von Psychologie und Neurowissenschaft mich immer mehr faszinierte, beschloss ich, als Wissenschaftler weiter auf dem Gebiet der sozialen Neurowissenschaft zu arbeiten. Als Mitarbeiter im Projekt animal emotionale (gefördert durch die VW-Stiftung) führe ich fMRT-Studien zu der Frage durch, wie Menschen Zwang und Freiheit in sozialen Interaktionen wahrnehmen bzw. wie sie Unsicherheit im Kontakt mit anderen durch Vertrauen und Kontrolle reduzieren.



  Top    Startseite